Take Charge Series #2 – Elevator Pitch

Today, I am going to ask you to develop your elevator pitch (aka 30 second commercial, tell me about yourself). Here is an example:

Hello, good morning. I am Ram Bhagat with a Ph.D. degree in Materials Science and Engineering and an MSME degree in Mechanical Engineering. Professionally, I am an experienced engineering manager and a subject matter expert in materials and mechanics. For over 8 years at Northrop Grumman with a SECRET security clearance, I have had numerous opportunities to solve very complex problems utilizing my leadership skills and subject matter expertise. I am widely recognized as an effective problem solver who makes decisive recommendations to the management and stakeholders saving the company millions of dollars. I will be pleased to expand on my achievements whenever you have time. For now going forward I see myself in a leadership position wherein I can utilize the synergy of the group to bring value added to the organization beyond being a single expert contributor. If I may ask you a question, please tell me what are the specific challenges that keep you awake at night? Thank you.

Now you write your elevator pitch following the pointers below:

1.     Salutation, your name, degrees – Hello, good morning. I am Ram Bhagat with a Ph.D. degree in Materials Science and Engineering and an MSME degree in Mechanical Engineering.

2.     Your “brand” – Professionally, I am an experienced engineering manager and a subject matter expert in materials and mechanics.

3.     Your recent accomplishments – For over 8 years at Northrop Grumman with a SECRET security clearance, I have had numerous opportunities to solve very complex problems utilizing my leadership skills and subject matter expertise.

4.     Your characteristics, benefits to the companies – I am widely recognized as an effective problem solver who makes decisive recommendations to the management and stakeholders saving the company millions of dollars.

5.     You have more to say – I will be pleased to expand on my achievements whenever you have time.

6.     Your immediate goal – For now going forward I see myself in a leadership position wherein I can utilize the synergy of the group to bring value added to the organization beyond being a single expert contributor.

7.     Engage him/her by asking a question – If I may ask you a question, please tell me what are the specific challenges that keep you awake at night? Thank you.

Let me know if this helps you in your career transition.

Happy Holidays!

Ram

Ram Bhagat, Ph.D.

(U.S. citizen with “Secret” security clearance)

Fellow, ASM International

Aerospace & Defense – SOLVING PROBLEMS.DEVELOPING PEOPLE

Connect with me:http://www.linkedin.com/inviteFromProfile?from=profile&key=28230808&firstName=Ram&lastName=Bhagat

 

http://home.comcast.net/~ram.bhagat/site

Visit my blogs at rambbhagat.com

(814) 876-3333             

ram.bhagat@comcast.net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

